The Beach, Around Town, and More Random

IMG_3119

Here we are! We’ve had a lot of fun these past few weeks doing a little exploring outside our little town, and also staying in-town and relaxing!

IMG_3123

Today is my sweet grandaddy’s birthday, and I know how much he loves reading about our Oregon adventures on this blog – so this post is dedicated to him!

IMG_3124

We took a trip up to Cannon beach and it was beautiful! It’s definitely not what we are used to when we think of beaches in the south…I wore a sweatshirt the whole time! But the little town was quaint and full of cute little restaurants and shops, cute grey shingled beach houses, and sweet families all over!

IMG_3125

Right across the street from these houses is the beach – so adorable! We walked through the town and stopped for a beer at Pelican Brewing Company.

IMG_3120

Then we headed up even further north to Astoria which is where parts of the movie “The Goonies” was filmed (confession: I’ve never seen that movie. Steven is appalled).

IMG_3132

That bridge is the bridge to Washington, and it runs over the Columbia River which separates Washington and Oregon. We ate dinner right on the river and it was beautiful!

IMG_3142

When the weather permits, we’ve been enjoying time at our apartment complex pool! They just redid the whole pool area and it’s super nice – lots of chairs, grills, and a big fireplace!

IMG_3155

Our pool cooler full of poolside staples…

IMG_3152

We also took a trip over to Lake Oswego which is a little east of Hillsboro. We met up with our Georgia real estate agent’s brother and his wife (he also happens to be a real estate agent in Oregon) and got to know them a little bit while enjoying dinner on the lake. We really loved the restaurant and the atmosphere of the place, so we plan on going back very soon!

IMG_3159

On the staying in-town front, we’ve started a new weekend tradition of walking up to the Starbucks right by our place (it’s about a mile walk) to get coffee for us and pup-a-chino’s for Mila and Wilson!

IMG_3162

They enjoy the exercise, and the treat!

IMG_3163

Who knew a cup full of whipped cream could make these pups so happy!

IMG_3168

I’ve been enjoying some nice runs around our place as well, getting ready for Hood to Coast at the end of August! And getting ready for our upcoming vacation in Mexico in September!

IMG_3145

Some randomness now: this giant zucchini picked straight from my co-worker’s garden has been making a delicious addition to our dinners! I love garden fresh veggies.

IMG_3180

Here’s the above-mentioned zucchini-growing co-worker! Steven and I headed over the bridge on 4th of July to celebrate with her and her husband at their block party. Yummy food and corn hole!

IMG_3176

Work is going well. I’ve been especially enjoying all of the various sporting events on display. I worked from our cafe one morning and got to watch Wimbledon!

IMG_3178

The EuroCup has been a big event around campus as well. They had a bunch of giant TVs set up around campus with tables, bleachers and snacks for people to come watch some of the soccer matches. I’m not big into soccer, but I am big into snacks, so I was excited!

IMG_3177

Things I’ve been loving: random, but a co-worker has a bowl full of these flavored tootsie rolls at her desk and I can’t get enough of the vanilla flavored ones. It’s becoming a problem. Anyone else absolutely love these, or am I the only weirdo?

IMG_3144

Things that annoy me: the giant pile of shoes that accumulates by our front door. They just don’t ever seem to make it to the closet. The giant pile continues to grow.

1918748_147984032774_4757780_n

And finally, Happy Birthday to my sweet Granddaddy. One of my favorite people on the planet – thank you for always being proud of me. I love you, I miss you, and I hope your day is wonderful!

 

Leave a Reply

