Getting Settled and Some Things

After unloading everything from our house into the U-Haul truck, we wised up and hired movers to unload everything into our second-floor apartment in Oregon. Once they moved everything in on Saturday, I felt buried. Literally.

IMG_1575

Going from a four bedroom home to a two bedroom apartment, yea we have too much stuff. But, good news, we some how made it all fit.

Sunday I took Steven over to the Nike campus to show him around.

IMG_2470

Got the obligatory “first day of work” pic.

IMG_2471

The dogs are settling in nicely too. They’re loving the dog park at our apartment complex. They don’t stand still long enough for me to take their picture but we’re working on it.

IMG_2469

Some things about our new home:

  • we need rain boots
  • we {thankfully} settled in an area where there is a Target, McDonald’s, Best Buy, Starbucks, and Wal-Mart within a 5-mile radius. I’m calling it, the “Barrett Parkway” of Hillsboro. SW 185th is AKA Barrett Parkway
  • the 3-hour time difference is kicking our butts
  • everyone drives a Subaru
  • my commute to work is 10 minutes – I feel like I’m in some kind of alternate universe

Some things about Nike:

  • everyone wears a backpack
  • they REALLY want you to drink the Nike Kool-Aid. I’m happy to oblige
  • it’s the complete opposite of a law firm, and no one has an office
  • we’ve already spent my first week’s paycheck at the Nike Company Store, so there’s that

IMG_2476

The view from my desk doesn’t suck either. Oh – the desks are dry erase boards – I can’t wait to doodle all day!

IMG_2473

Steven and I celebrated our 1-year wedding anniversary on Monday too. We had a romantic dinner of pork chops, pierogies, and zucchini squash. We’re so cute. Starting off our second year of marriage in a brand new home, brand new job, it’s such a fresh start to this next year! He’s been so supportive of me throughout the move, I couldn’t ask for a more amazing partner in life.

Enough sappy…I’ll leave you with this perfect little post from Sophia Bush aka Brooke Davis. I just love her.

IMG_2477

Be Humble. Be Hungry. And always be the hardest worker in the room. {rinse, and repeat}

Hope y’all are having a great week so far!

2 thoughts on “Getting Settled and Some Things

Leave a Reply

