Discouraging and Five Friday Facts

In the interest of full disclosure, I have to tell you about yesterday’s run. I was supposed to do 5 miles outside. That didn’t happen. What did happen was 4 slow miles of heat, humidity, and total exhaustion. I’m not sure what’s up with the heaviness in my legs lately when I do my outside runs, but it’s definitely discouraging me. I’m probably going to stick to treadmill runs for the next few weeks just to build my confidence back up. Here’s what the run consisted of:

thumb_IMG_1153_1024I pass this lake on the last mile of my run home. I contemplated jumping in to cool off.

thumb_IMG_1154_1024Conveniently located at the entrance to my neighborhood so I made a pit stop.

thumb_IMG_1156_1024 thumb_IMG_1157_1024

I know it does’t look like it, but these are the last two hills leading up to my house in the last .4 miles of my run. They were especially terrible yesterday.

thumb_IMG_1155_1024You know it’s hot when I wear a hat when I run. I was trying to keep the sun off my face. I can’t wear sunglasses when I run – is that weird?

Today is my 4th run day in a row. I don’t typically go that many days without a rest day or a cross training day. But I’m struggling to increase my miles each week so I feel like I need an extra run day since my runs have all been shorter distances this week. The good news is my foam roller should be waiting on my doorstep when I get home from work tonight so that will be happening, for sure.

7c6f0a6140ed450493092bf9d7797d4d

Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Do you ever have those weeks that just…suck? Whether it’s your diet, your exercise, work, anything. It just feels like the thing you’re trying to focus on and improve on just all goes out the window for one week. That’s been this week for me. All of my miles have hurt, and I’m just feeling a little discouraged. I know this will pass and sucking it up and pushing through it will just make me mentally tougher. So I’m going to let this past week go and move on to a better week next week –

a8e47d0f9648c67df36fa939d318438e

—–

Moving on to Five Friday Facts:

Fact 1: I love alliterations. Just kidding – but for real, I think they’re fun and they let people know what you’re talking about in a fun creative way. In that same light, I love writing. Part of the reason for starting this blog is to give me an outlet for creative writing. English was my favorite subject throughout my scholastic years, and I love to read.

Fact 2: This week, my favorite post-run snack has been watermelon. If you check out my About Me page, I said I don’t like watermelon. I don’t know if the heat has been getting to me, but it just sounded so good when I was at the grocery store this week and it has been so delicious to eat after a long, hot run!

thumb_IMG_1158_1024

Fact 3: I absolutely love stripes (see my picture above, yea, favorite sweater). I’d say 90% of my wardrobe is stripes. I’m easy to shop for.

Fact 4:  I wear a size 11 running shoe. I have giant feet.

Fact 5: I have been to Disney World so many times, it’s a little outrageous. It’s the place my family has always vacationed so to me, it’s a place filled with so many fun memories. It never gets old to me, I literally turn into a much nicer/happier/more relaxed person right after we drive under the Walt Disney World arches. That’s part of the reason I chose to do my first marathon in Disney. At least if I feel like I’m dying at any point during the race, I’m in my favorite place on earth…hoping that gives me some extra adrenaline. Some throwbacks, circa 2007 –

200365_4727877774_5043_n 197313_4727882774_5328_n

My little brothers and I always take pictures together in the same places at Disney. We literally have 7 or 8 years worth of pictures of the 4 of us in front of the entrance to the Polynesian Hotel. Family traditions, gotta love them!

—–

7 miles this weekend, happy running!

What do you do when you feel like you’re in a running rut?

Tell me some Friday Facts!

5 thoughts on “Discouraging and Five Friday Facts

  1. It’s about effort and time on your feet, not making it to some waypoint you’d picked out months ago when you put together the training program. I flag on hot runs all the time, never effects overall performance at the end of the day.

    You have really giant feet.

    Like

  2. I like to run with friends if I’m not feeling particularly motivated. And fun fact about me is I enjoy running when it’s super hot and sunny outside – a racerback tan line is like a badge of honor in my opinion : )

    Like

  3. It’s definitely the heat and humidity that is causing the off week! I am having a terrible two weeks – we had the heat last week, and I somehow had a cold this week (what? In the summer?!), and now I’m hearing that we are getting a crazy heat wave next week. I guess that’s summer running for you! Ha! The heaviness you feel might be dehydration – when it’s this hot, drink more. That might be why your sudden craving for watermelon 🙂 I’m also a hypocrite, because I should hydrate more myself. Have a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

