Coach Carl, Some Ramblings, Wednesday Words of Wisdom

Welcome to Wednesday! I had my first meeting with my running coach, Coach Carl, yesterday and it was so encouraging/exciting/motivating/informative/all of the above! This first meeting was to do a running form analysis, but it was so much more than that. I don’t know why I was so nervous before I met him, but it went so well! See me, nervous: IMG_1140The Good News:

* He said there are no MAJOR things that we need to change. I just have some form issues that we can work on that will help my running economy – exactly what I wanted to hear!

* I got some amazing exercises to do before and after my runs that will help strengthen the muscles that I need to build up to improve my form.

* Coach Carl was so excited to hear that I had recently purchased a foam roller and assured me that it would help with my ankle/calf issues (apparently my pain is due to some flexibility issues in these areas, but easy to fix). IMG_1142 * This was my view during our meeting. I love Piedmont Park. Second time there in a week, my inner city girl is swooning.

The Bad Stuff:

* While there is nothing majorly wrong with my form, my posture needs some work. The madre (and pretty much anyone who has been around me, ever) would agree, I have a posture problem. Beating a dead horse here…

* I need to work on the flexibility in my ankle so that my back foot will have more power in my stride and take a lot of the pressure off my hips which get tight.

* Coach Carl was a little worried about IT band issues if we don’t strengthen my glutes. That doesn’t sound like fun. Here’s a little more on the IT band and how it affects runners and ways to avoid injury.

He also did a video analysis of me running – that was definitely eye-opening! It was incredibly insightful and I could easily see (with no professional coach training) some things I need to work on!

As I start getting more into the warm-ups and specific exercises Coach Carl has prescribed, I will share them with you guys and let you know how it’s going! Overall, the session definitely motivated me and made me excited about continuing to improve myself as a runner and become more efficient and more prepared to complete this 26.2 miles in just a few short months. More specifically… Screen Shot 2015-07-14 at 9.27.30 PM Side Note: The marathon is still open! You can register here, and there’s still plenty of time to train!

——-

These bananas were staring me down from the kitchen table, begging me to make some banana bread. Turns out, the recipe I used called for 4 over-ripe bananas. Coincidence? I think not. IMG_1133 Here is the recipe I used and it turned out to be delicious! Confession: I did add about 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips to my batter, so it ended up being Banana Chocolate Chip Bread. If you ask me, the chocolate chips really made the bread, in my unbiased opinion. primedayamazon-728x403 Have you heard about this? Today, Amazon is offering tons of deals to Prime members! I’ll let you know what kind of deals I score.

I was able to go meet my running coach this afternoon after work thanks to my amazing neighbor and best friend. Today, she and her hubs ran over to our house after work to let our pups out so that I could head straight to the park and not have to drive all the way home first. Love my friends!IMG_3657 IMG_7035 Mila and Wilson love when she comes to visit, and I’m grateful that she loves them just as much.

Wednesday Words of Wisdom: 865af01a7dd6d36ca3f47e94191d80ea The reason I decided to and the reason I am able to continue on this running journey is because I’m surrounded by people who tell me that I can. So much of what we accomplish in life we owe to those around us who encourage, support, and go out of their way to push us toward our dreams. We can’t do things on our own – or at least, in my experience, it’s a lot harder. Be someone worth cheering for, have goals, tell people about them, let people help, and accept encouragement.  Surround yourself with people who lift you up and push you to be better – because you are better.

And, on that note, my workout recaps:

Monday – Strength Train, 10 minutes on elliptical

Tuesday – 4 miles in 37:33

Wednesday – 4 miles in 37:03, plus some exercises Coach Carl gave me before and after my run

—–

Has anyone trained with a running coach before? How was it? 

Are you eyeing anything on Amazon to buy on Prime Day? 

I’m hoping they have some deals on running gear, obviously.

Who are the people in your life who motivate you the most? Make sure you thank them today!

One thought on “Coach Carl, Some Ramblings, Wednesday Words of Wisdom

Leave a Reply

