Workout Recap and My Typical Sunday

Workout Recap 7/6 – 7/12:

Monday – 5 miles @ 9:31 pace

Tuesday – 5 miles @ 9:23 pace

Wednesday – Strength in AM, Swim in PM (1000 yards, 30 minutes)

Thursday – Rest

Friday – 6.2 miles in 57:45

Saturday – Rest

Sunday -5.5 miles outside @ 9:45 pace

Total – 21.7 miles

ffce96490a5b404fe989a088453f91d4

On Sundays, the hubs usually goes to bowling practice in the morning so I use that time to clean, make our weekly menu and make a grocery list. Things I usually clean on Sundays:

laundry (it’s never-ending) / mop (using my Swiffer Sweeper) / wash the bed sheets/ clean the fridge of any leftovers we didn’t eat during the week / sometimes I go to the pool

IMG_1117

It’s a glamorous life I lead I tell you. But cleaning is a strangely calming and relaxing task for me. I grew up always having chores to do around the house and my mom worked really hard to keep our house impeccably clean. So to me, cleaning is just somewhat of a “given” when it comes to home-ownership and being a wife. I also think it’s so enjoyable for me because it’s instant gratification. There aren’t a lot of things in life that you can start working on and then 10 minutes later you instantly see it improve because of your effort. Basically I live by this rule:

2dfa28705fa03f8a97c5ed7ed2cad012

And, bonus, I’m usually not panicking if someone unexpectedly shows up at my door to drop something off or if there’s an impromptu girl’s night at my house. It’s usually in a pretty steady-state of somewhat tidy and presentable. So at the most, a quick 10 or 20-minute pick-up is all it takes before the house is ready for guests. It calms my anxiety and just make me feel happy when the house is clean. There are a lot of great resources to help you get into a cleaning schedule so that housework doesn’t seem as daunting and you’re not stuck doing every inch of cleaning on one day of the week. Here are a few I’ve found that I really like:

This one is very simple weekly calendar.

This one gives you things to do from daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly. Great reminders.

If you have kids, this is a great one to get them in the habit of doing certain chores every day.

This message brought to you by: Katherine’s neurotic brain. My neurotic brain also thoroughly enjoys meal planning. This way I know exactly what to buy at the grocery store each week and I only buy what I know we will need. Result: we don’t have food sitting (and rotting) in our pantry in fridge for weeks because it just “sounded good” as I was cruising the aisles of the store.

I use Google Calendar for all of our family planning – more on this later. Of the many things I organize on here, I also include our weekly dinner menu. It eliminates the ever-annoying question, “What’s for dinner?” This week’s menu highlights (reviews to follow) are –
Cayenne Rubbed Chicken with Avocado Salsa (click picture for recipe)

abe3bbfbc73534cb49cf55f5bc1c46c8

Strawberry and Balsamic Grilled Chicken Salad (click picture for recipe)

534c2333264047bf1b3c214794a8d651I’m very excited to cook these yummy dishes this week!

And I’ll leave you with this little gem from one of our Atlanta adventures this weekend…

image1

Do you have a cleaning schedule that you follow every week?

What recipes are you looking forward to cooking this week?

Did you have any great runs or workouts last week?

My 6.2 miles on Friday felt really good for some reason! I think that rest day on Thursday was helpful. 

Leave a Reply

