Weekend Rewind 4th of July Style

I hope you all had a wonderful long holiday weekend! The hubs and I both had the day off on Friday, yay! Mine was spent bridesmaid’s dress shopping for R&M’s wedding next year, and, success! IMG_0741I found my bridesmaid’s dress! She’s doing a mix-and-match style so each bridesmaid gets to pick their own dress! I don’t want to spoil the surprise, but let’s just say it’s adorable and I love it! I’m so relieved to have found my dress, check that off my list! That shopping trip was immediately followed by a framily cookout over at Casa de Anderson.

image8

I love these people and am so grateful for our friendship – and Blondie’s selfie stick!

Saturday for the 4th we went over to the Anderson’s parent’s pool. They have a big party for the 4th of July every year and it can get a little rowdy! I never go to a party empty handed so I found this adorable kebob dish on Pinterest and decided to give it a try. What do you think, how’d I do?

2b5dc6c640c0869e4f185e817808bd27
Pinterest Inspiration
image7
My Attempt

Pinterest went extra healthy with theirs and used bananas. I decided that would probably get a little melty in the heat so I went with the less-healthy option of marshmallows. I think they were a hit at the party! There was so much delicious food there, we had such a good time eating and celebrating the 4th!

image9 We also had fun tossing the tennis ball for Luke, the wold’s most patriotic dog. He loves the pool, I wish I could have gotten a live action shot of him jumping in for the ball, it’s hilarious!image5

Side note: This weekend was my last few days of my rest week. I’ve been nursing a sore ankle and just an emotionally”off” week last week. So I decided to take this past week off of running. Sometimes I feel like I need to take a mental health week and refuel and regain my running mojo. So, I went HAM on all the snacks at the party with no guilt. Sometimes, your body just needs to rest and indulge a little bit. As long as you don’t fall completely off the wagon, there’s no shame or harm in giving in every once in a while. Next week, it’s back to the grind!

What did you do for the 4th?

What kind of 4th of July party dishes have you tried?

Have you even taken time off from exercising? Do you feel like it helped or hurt your training?

Leave a Reply

