On Wednesdays We Drink Wine and Eat Food

It’s already Wednesday?! This image3week is flying by, which is fine by me because the hubs and I have a fun / relaxing weekend ahead of us! So to start with the wine, I’m currently indulging in this delicious red that we have left over from our wedding. It’s pretty full-bodied, but it’s not overly sweet which is perfect for me.

Other delicious things I’ve been cooking up this week: egg muffin breakfast cups. I’ve been making these for breakfast for me and the hubs for the past few weeks and they are definitely a winner.

image2You can add literally anything into these little cups of yummy and you will have a delicious, healthy, and quick breakfast that’s easy to grab on-the-go…which is exactly what we are during the work week!

Enter…egg muffin cups. It’s so simple. I usually make these on Sundays during my meal prep and they last all week. For 10 muffins (we usually make 10, 1 for each of us for each workday), you need:

5 whole eggs / 5 egg whites / salt & pepper to taste / ground sausage / veggies

From there, you really just add any veggies and/or meat that you want! I try to make these as protein-packed as possible so I make sure to buy breakfast sausage (turkey) each week at the store. I cook up the sausage first, then spray the muffin tin with non-stick spray. I pour the egg/egg white combo into 10 muffin cups, filling about 1/2 way and then sprinkle the sausage evenly in each cup.

image25This food chopper is my life-saver. It makes it so quick and easy to chop up any veggie that we want to add into our muffins! This week we had green bell peppers and mushrooms. You can also use pico de gallo, spinach, onion, you can put anything you want in there!

I always add cheese to mine, I’m a cheese fanatic. The hubs isn’t as big of a fan so I usually do some with less cheese or no cheese for him.  Pop them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. I leave mine in for a little longer so they get golden brown on the top.

image21Take them out and let them cool before you put them in a tupperware and into the fridge! When I’m packing my lunch in the morning, I just take one muffin out of the tupperware and wrap it in some tinfoil and heat up at work (30 seconds in the microwave and you’re good to go). Easy, quick, healthy, and packed with protein!

No running for me today. Got some strength training in at the gym in the AM, and a swim workout tonight. Happy hump day!

Do you have any on-the-go breakfast favorites?

What are your favorite kinds of veggies to put in eggs or omelets?

Leave a Reply

